Living in the Netherlands

Mid-Year Update

I have been living in the Netherlands for exactly six months. I can’t believe it. Here’s a quick summary of what I’ve done, and what’s to come.

I’ve lived in two Dutch cities, soon to be three! (We move to Laren in May.)

Venlo

Venlo

Snow in Breukeleveen

The view from my window in Breukeleveen

I visited Germany.

Hattingen, Germany

And I’ll be going back (to Germany) in a few weeks to visit Iris for the weekend. I can’t wait.

I just got back from a two-week trip to Spain with the family.

Marbella

Expect a blog in which I profess my love for this country. No seriously, it’s coming.

I love that alternative forms of transportation have become a part of my everyday life.

Bike in Amsterdam

NS train

Ice skating on a LAKE!

Ice Skating

Carnaval was my first couchsurfing experience, and one of my favorite weekends so far.

Confetti party at Carnaval

Here are some of my favorite places in the Netherlands:

Noordermarkt

Noordermarkt in Amsterdam, where Jillian and I get our fix of whole-wheat croissants and drip coffee.

IJ-Hallen

IJ-Hallen, the largest flea market in Europe

Winkel 43

Apple pie and coffee from Winkel 43

And here’s a taste of my upcoming adventures:

A weekend visit to The Hague to go to this film festival, hosted by Amnesty International.

A food foraging expedition in Amsterdam.

Queen’s Day is rapidly approaching (April 30), and promises to be a day to remember — especially since Queen Beatrix is set to abdicate her throne on that day to her son, Prince Willem-Alexander.

A trip to London in May to see Noah and the Whale perform.

My lovely friend Jackie is visiting in July – I may even be able to see her during my birthday!

I sincerely hope I can attend La Tomatina in August. If anyone else wants in, let me know.

2 thoughts on “Mid-Year Update

  1. Julie

    I really enjoyed the beautiful pictures you sent – It sounds like you have acclimated to your new home(s) and taking in this new culture well. What a beautiful country (yes, Spain too); the music scene sounds exciting – I am going to Google a few of the bands you listed.

    I have a website going up shortly and would love to utilize one or two of you pictures. Would that be alright? I think I mentioned my communication concept I wrote a few years ago – directed to a combination of ESL and English speakers of Asian ancestry to help with ‘American English’. Let me know what you think.

    Kolua

    • Hello Kolua,

      Thank you so much for your kind words. I’m really enjoying myself here, though I do miss the monthly Amnesty meetings very much. You are of course welcome to use any of my pictures, and I would love to see the site once it goes live.Good luck with that endeavor– I hope all is well with you!

Leave a Reply

