Post-Netherlands Backpacking Trip

Rules of the Road

In this article by BootsnAll, they discuss the idea of creating a set of travel rules. I particularly like the story of one man who visited every country in the world, WITHOUT FLYING.

I can’t promise anything near that level of awesomeness. But the list below should yield some insight into my travel approach.

  1. Eat veggie. (Note: I plan to address the “why vegetarian” question in a future post since I get asked so often.)

    I really miss this cafe in Amsterdam.

    I really miss this cafe in Amsterdam.

  2. Hitchhike and couchsurf as much as possible.

    Some of my most memorable experiences come from these means of transportation/accommodation.

    Some of my most memorable experiences come from these means of transportation/accommodation.

  3. Take a picture of/with every person that hosts me. (These pictures are continually updated in my “Faces of Hospitality” album on facebook.)

    One of my original hosts, Jillian in Amsterdam. I visited her so often that she re-named her day bed the “Julie bed.”

    One of my original hosts, Jillian from Amsterdam. I visited her so often that she re-named her day bed “the Julie bed.”

  4. No smart phones.

    I know, it would make traveling so much easier. I think that's the point – I don't want it to be easy.

    I know, it would make traveling so much easier. I think that’s the point – I don’t want it to be easy.

  5. Don’t wear shoes (as much as possible).

    Due to the inspiration of one of my recent hosts, I'm finally going barefoot.

    Due to the inspiration of one of my recent hosts, I’m finally going barefoot.

  6. Take a picture with Super Monkey at iconic landmarks.
This travel companion of mine keeps me safe around the world.

This travel companion of mine keeps me safe around the world.

That’s all I can muster for now. Any ideas? How else can I challenge myself while abroad? How can I improve my awesomeness level?

One thought on “Rules of the Road

Leave a Reply

