Post-Netherlands Backpacking Trip

The Summer of Julie (in 10 photos)

On an episode of Seinfeld, George Costanza finds himself without a job, but with enough money to subsist for three months. This period becomes known as ‘The Summer of George.’

And so I thought it was only appropriate to dub my adventure through Ireland and the UK as ‘The Summer of Julie.’ I spent one month hitchhiking and couchsurfing my way through the Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland; and two months traveling through England, Scotland, and Wales.

There are things that will forever remind me of that incredible summer. Here are some of them.

1. Hitchhiking

In Ireland, I hitchhiked for the first time. I was scared and nervous, but it led me to so many fantastic people, and a more sustainable way of traveling.

In Ireland, I hitchhiked for the first time. I was scared and nervous, but it led me to so many fantastic people, and a more sustainable way of traveling.

2. My nose piercing

As a early birthday present to myself, I decided to get my nose pierced in Galway.

As a early birthday present to myself, I decided to get my nose pierced in Galway.

3. Reading in parks

Traveling can be tiresome, so whenever I need a recharge I find a patch of grass and pull out my Kindle.

Traveling can be tiresome, so whenever I need a recharge I find a patch of grass and pull out my Kindle.

4. Cider

Since I’m not a fan of beer, cider was my go-to drink in Ireland.

Since I’m not a fan of beer, cider was my go-to drink in Ireland.

5. Tea

Finally, I was surrounded by people who love tea as much as I do.

Finally, I was surrounded by people who love tea as much as I do.

6. Sandwiches

To cut down on expenses, I would often make sandwiches for lunch/dinner. I’m fairly certain that I’m now 70% bread.

To cut down on expenses, I would often make sandwiches for lunch/dinner.
I’m fairly certain that I’m now 70% bread.

7. Bare feet

It was during summer that Tim inspired me to stop wearing shoes. It’s an added sense for experiencing a new place, helping me to be more aware of my surroundings.

It was during summer that Tim inspired me to stop wearing shoes. It’s an added sense for experiencing a new place, helping me to be more aware of my surroundings.

8. Cafes

This is where I get a majority of my writing and research done. It also allows me to relax and chat with locals.

This is where I get a majority of my writing and research done. It also allows me to relax and chat with locals.

9. Pubs

I grew quite fond of traditional live music sessions in Irish pubs.

I grew quite fond of traditional live music sessions in Irish pubs.

10. Arrested Development

While in London, Nikki and I got our friend David hooked on the show. One of my favorite moments was watching it in the fort we constructed in the living room.

While in London, Nikki and I got our friend David hooked on the show.
One of my favorite moments was watching it in the fort we constructed in the living room.

By the end of the episode, George becomes so lazy that he can’t even manage to go to Jerry’s apartment. In comparison, I think I did pretty well.

Leave a Reply

