Post-Netherlands Backpacking Trip

Resolutions

It’s a bit strange, celebrating my second consecutive New Year abroad. Last year I was in Amsterdam, nearly freezing from 4-7am, as I waited for the train station to open. That picture is in stark contrast to my current surroundings.

Behold, the tropical oasis that is Thailand.

Behold, the tropical oasis that is Thailand.

I do plan to return to California soon (February 11, to be exact), and I have big plans. I won’t bore you with all the details, but here are some of my main goals for 2014.

1. Volunteer, intern, or work with refugees

I’ve finally decided on a career path, one that involves working with urban refugees. So I’ll definitely be looking for related opportunities in the coming months.

2. Visit Mexico

Now that I’ve cultivated a personal travel style (moving slowly, staying with locals), I’m excited to explore locations closer to home. Despite its proximity, I’ve never really been to Mexico (save a few orphanage trips).

3. Become fluent in Spanish

This has been a goal of mine for so long, and the upcoming trips to Mexico will (hopefully) motivate me to finally follow through with it.

4. Cycle to San Diego (from Long Beach area)

Upon returning to California, my plan is to forgo a car for a bicycle. But many people and places I love reside in San Diego, so I need to train myself to make the arduous trip. (I also have the eventual goal of cycling across the States, so this will be good practice.)

5. Apply to graduate school

I meant to do this in 2013, but I found it overwhelming to compile all the necessary documents, thousands of miles from home. I am determined to do it this year, looking for a program stateside or abroad that will further my career and life goals.

2014 promises to be an exciting and productive year. See you all in California in about a month!

6 thoughts on “Resolutions

  1. I’ll do 2, 3, and 4 with you! I was just telling Jackson that I want to go to Mexico and we decided to look into who we know who has family there. Also we decided to plan a bike trip to SD. haha! and, of course, I’m practicing my Spanish.

    Love and miss you SO much! I can’t wait to see your face and I’m so glad you are having such an amazing time. Rock this next month!

  2. Just in time fort birthday (on the 16th)!!!!!! I’m dying to see you. I know it hasn’t been as long as other ppl but I still miss you tons. I’m sad I left you in London. I wish I could’ve stayed w you. Sigh. I can’t wait to see you! Travel safely. Like always. Love you! Miss you!!

    • I could have flown in on the 16th or 18th, and your birthday was definitely a factor in choosing the earlier flight 🙂 Can’t wait to see you either, let’s take mini-trips when I get back. Miss &love you!!

  3. I second you on the learning Spanish bit. I’ve used DuoLingo before and really enjoyed it, but life got busy and I had to give up on it for a while. Still, let me know if you need a Spanish-learning buddy; I’d really like to shoot for it again.

    And good luck with the biking! Best exercise you can get, I think. And a good way to stay in shape.

Leave a Reply

