Post-Netherlands Backpacking Trip

Why I Travel

For me, traveling isn’t a hobby, a temporary escape from reality, or a photo opportunity. It’s a lifestyle, one that I intend to continue pursuing.hitchhiking

It’s an opportunity to continually learn and grow, to connect with people from all around the world in an authentic and genuine way.Kuantan

I can witness fundamental similarities shared by humanity.

Four girls from four different continents, and so much in common.

Four girls from four different continents, and so much in common.

Meeting locals, I learn all of the insider tips.David

Meeting fellow travelers, we swap stories and learn from each other’s experiences.DSCN1050

I am constantly pushed out of my comfort zone, meeting new people on a near-daily basis, navigating foreign transportation systems, and trying my hand at new languages.

Our hitchhiking driver only spoke Hungarian and German. Somehow, we were able to understand each other with my (very) basic knowledge of  Dutch and German.

Our Hungarian driver, who also speaks German. I stumbled through a strange
Dutch-German hybrid language, which somehow allowed us to break the linguistic barrier.

I see a lot of tourist sites and attractions. Many of them blend together; but still, every once in a while, I see something that takes my breath away.

Thaipusam 2014 at Batu Caves, Malaysia

Thaipusam 2014 at Batu Caves, Malaysia

I discover new food. Let’s be honest, this is probably in the top two of reasons why I travel.

Roti canai with teh tarik, a personal favorite in Malaysia

Roti canai with teh tarik, a personal favorite in Malaysia

I am now more flexible, adaptable, and assertive. I accept that things rarely go according to plan, maintaining a sense of balance and purpose. Besides, misadventures are usually more fun and make for better stories.

The day Bangkok decided it wasn't ready for us to leave.

The day Bangkok decided it wasn’t ready for us to leave.

I return home in just two days, and I know I’ll be bombarded with questions about my experience abroad. I’m a little nervous for this, because I’ve been gone for so long that I don’t even know where to begin.

I figure this is the best place to start: I travel because I can’t imagine my life any other way.

2 thoughts on “Why I Travel

  1. Reminds me of when I was in Tahiti and SE Asai and managed to communicate somewhat with my spanish. Very proud of you Julie!

  2. Julie this is awesome, and you put it much better than I could have. Let me know when life has calmed down and you have time for a fort night so we can share more travel stories 🙂 love you and fly safe!!

Leave a Reply

