Uncategorized

A little bit of productivity, a lot of food and cats

I cannot believe I returned to California over a month ago. The time has absolutely flown.

When people ask what I’ve been doing, I usually have trouble coming up with (what I would view as) a satisfactory answer. I blame a lack of short term memory. So here are some pictures to clear up the mystery.

As previously stated, Mexican food was the very first thing on my agenda.

mexican food

Ignore that sad-looking salad, the delicious food arrived later. And yes, there were margaritas and horchata.

I resumed walking barefoot.

It is glorious. The calluses are coming in nicely.

It is glorious. The calluses are coming in nicely.

Of course, I’m making up for lost family time.

McMahons/Nogueras

And reuniting with old friends.

Dustin Crew

But to be honest, I’m mostly hanging out with the 2-4 age group.

Holly belting out the Frozen soundtrack

Holly belting out the Frozen soundtrack

Chloe/Jayden

My adorable St. Patty’s day date

My adorable St. Patty’s date

I’m trying to find/recreate dishes from abroad, in an effort to recapture some of the traveling spirit.

My beloved gado-gado (pictured right): boiled vegetables, glutinous rice cakes, tofu, tempeh, loads of peanut sauce, Indonesian-style fried crackers, and spicy sambal.

My beloved gado-gado (pictured right): boiled vegetables, glutinous rice cakes, tofu, tempeh, loads of peanut sauce, Indonesian-style fried crackers, and spicy sambal.

In a San Diegan fusion cafe, I found something similar. But it’s just not the same.

In a San Diegan fusion cafe, I found something similar. But it just wasn’t the same.

I’m now apparently certified to flirt in Spanish. So, there’s that.

“Ojalá fuera bizca para verte dos veces.” I wish I were cross-eyed so I could see you twice *wink*

“Ojalá fuera bizca para verte dos veces.”
I wish I were cross-eyed so I could see you twice *wink*

And I really am trying to job search, write, etc.

But really, how can I when this cutie is my constant companion?

But how can I when this cutie is my constant companion?

 

When the cats aren’t actively distracting me, I do manage to accomplish the occasional task. At the forefront of my mind is the upcoming film series hosted by Living Ubuntu for Genocide Awareness and Prevention Month. The events will focus on the lived experiences of genocide survivors and their children. If you live in the Orange County area, I highly recommend joining us for these incredible film screenings. Since our current priority is getting the word out, I’ll close the blog post with more information about the events, and RSVP links.

APRIL 2014 GENOCIDE AWARENESS AND PREVENTION MONTH

Remembering the Past toward Healing our Future
A free six event commemorative film series featuring the stories of survivors and their children

Tuesday, April 1:
My Neighbor, My Killer (Rwanda) Soka University 5p-6p Reception, 6p-8p Program

Wednesday, April 2:
The Armenian Genocide (Armenian) Concordia University 7p-9p

Thursday, April 3: 
Enemies of the People (Cambodia) Golden West College 6:30p-9p

Thursday, April 17: 
A collection of short films (Sudan) UC Irvine 5p-6:50p (Reception after)

Wednesday, April 23: 
I Came to Testify (Bosnia) CSU Long Beach 7p-9p

Tuesday, April 29: 
Numbered (The Holocaust) Chapman University 7p-8:30p

Wednesday, April 30:
Closing Reception University Synagogue, 7p-8:30p

RSVP

Remembering and telling the truth about terrible events are prerequisites both for the restoration of the social order and for the healing of individual victims.
– Judith Herman

This series is presented by Living Ubuntu, Amnesty International – Irvine, the above academic institutions and our community partners:

American Red Cross of Orange County
Carl Wilkens Fellowship
Compassionate California
Center for Living Peace
Citizens for Global Solutions, California Region 
i-ACT
Irvine United Congregational Church, Advocates for Peace and Justice
Jewish World Watch
People4Sudan
Seeds Ta Afrika
Sisters of St. Joseph of Orange
Spiritual and Religious Alliance for Hope (SARAH)
Sudanese-American Youth Center – San Diego

The Cambodian Family
Tiyya Foundation
United Nations Association, Orange County Chapter
University Synagogue
Women For: Orange County 

      For more info, event updates, film trailers, speakers, and RSVP, visit:

http://livingubuntu.org/events

5 thoughts on “A little bit of productivity, a lot of food and cats

  1. So many films coming up. Jackson and I will definitely be at one of them, hopefully more, and hopefully we’ll be able to drag some people out. I’m glad you’re using duolingo! I definitely need more practice with it…

    Glad you’re doing well and catching up with everyone. 🙂

  2. ARE YOU KIDDING ME??!! You’ve accomplished a lot (for me.) You helped me get ready for Dictionary Day the the Long Beach Public Library Foundation. You packed 60 backpacks with books and snacks for visiting school children. HUGE! Then you delivered a dozen or so boxes of dictionaries to some of the private schools in the area. You also helped us out by taking pictures at the event and at the Get Your Read On mixer. Don’t sell yourself short, Chica! (espanol for girlie!) Mucho productivity, comeda y gatos!

    • I guess I’ve done a few things.. haha but you’re totally right. I’m so glad I’ve had the time to help you out a bit! Necesitamos practicar español en casa 🙂

Leave a Reply

