Indie30 Blog Challenge

Day 11, Breaking the Rules

I like to warn people upfront that I don’t have a danger sensor. Particularly when it comes to climbing things, I act before I think.

11943349143_aa5e9a909e_o

11943517204_01aea99bd3_o

Pairing these two characteristics together, I actually break the rules quite often.

Not without breaking some rules.

Though I like to think that they aren’t serious offenses, with great consequences. (Except.. *ahem*… that time I overstayed my visa in the Netherlands. But we’ll save that story for a different post.)

Yep, as you can see, I just really like to climb.

12248398716_08636d24c5_o

13109499713_d5768fd07f_o

12248998334_761dc792f4_o

Okay, okay, there was also the time my friends and I broke into an abandoned amusement park. The funny thing is, we first tried breaking in, then discovered we could enter legally if we agreed to check out an upcycling fashion exhibit.

Spree Park, Berlin

Spree Park, Berlin

After leaving, we decided that we didn’t get enough thrill from the experience, and climbed a fence to re-enter the park illegally.

The post-break-in pictures were definitely more eerie.

The post-break-in pictures were definitely more eerie.

We also tried an abandoned U.S. spy station in Berlin, but were unsuccessful.

There were two rows of barbed-wire fences. It would have taken some slick MacGyvering to get through those monstrosities.

There were two rows of barbed-wire fences. It would have taken some slick MacGyvering to get through those monstrosities.

So I guess it’s not limited to just climbing. I crave the adventure and excitement of doing something new, unknown to many. Which I suppose, partially explains my intense love of travel.

2 thoughts on “Day 11, Breaking the Rules

  1. Pingback: 2015: Intention, Joy, Dare | Wander. Learn. Repeat.

Leave a Reply

