Indie30 Blog Challenge

Day 13, Languages

Prompt: “If you could wake up tomorrow knowing any one language (one you don’t already know), what would it be and why?”

Well, I already have some experience with Spanish, Dutch, and German. So those ones are out, since I’m already on the path to knowing them.

If I had to choose one, it would probably be Vietnamese. I know I’ll return, and how wonderful would it be to communicate (more easily) with my Vietnamese family?

I hope I never stop trying to learn new languages. There’s something immensely beautiful and satisfying about speaking to someone in their native tongue. The few times I’ve done it in Spanish, I felt like I discovered a whole new world of understanding. It offers greater insight into that person’s experience, and it is such a privilege.

Leave a Reply

