Uncategorized

I’m moving to Europe! (again)

I’m so excited to share that I was accepted into a Master’s program abroad WITH a scholarship, which not only covers the costs of tuition and health insurance, but also includes a monthly stipend and a generous contribution toward travel expenses.

My first year of studies will be in Vienna, Austria followed by a year in Leipzig, Germany (a little south of Berlin). The program is Global Studies — an interdisciplinary examination of global patterns, using a historical framework informed by cultural studies, area studies, and sociology. As a friend of mine pointed out, what better way to participate in a Global Studies program than by studying and living in two different countries?

Bonus: I totally plan to be fluent in German at the end of the two years.

I spent some time in Austria and Germany during my last stint abroad. I really loved both countries and I’m so eager to return. Austria wowed me with its gorgeous mountains and scenery. Vienna is a beautiful, vibrant city that has been ranked most livable city in the world SIX times in a row by the international consulting firm Mercer.

602260_10152317310753102_101785855_n

Fall in Vienna

I spent more time in Germany on my last trip, and with family that lives there, it holds a very special place in my heart. Berlin is so dynamic, so fun, and so weird in all the right ways. I can’t wait for weekend hitchhiking trips to visit. I have a number of good friends in both countries (as well as in neighboring countries), so to say I’m excited is a huge understatement.

1004634_10152308703818102_132317535_n

Mural on the Berlin Wall

I’m excited for so many things, small and big. I can’t wait to hitchhike, to couchsurf, to travel to new places and make new friends. Reuniting with friends and family definitely tops the list of things I can’t wait to do. But it’s the little, everyday changes that I think will have the biggest impact over time — being able to cycle to friends’ houses, using a well-connected public transportation system, walking to the grocery store / farmers’ market, experiencing all four seasons, making fumbling attempts to speak German, etc.

1377230_10152308708723102_326676983_n

I can’t wait to see these beauties.

270939_10151892029628102_755370922_n

And to reunite with my wonderful family!

Local farmers' markets, for the win.

Local farmers’ markets, for the win.

533796_10151494462333102_446151388_n

I can visit my beloved Amsterdam!

There are also many, many people and things in California that I will miss dearly. I’ve been such a mixed bag of emotions since I learned the news that I’ve literally gone from jumping up and down to crying uncontrollably in a matter of minutes. It’s an emotional rollercoaster, and I’m trying to embrace the whole spectrum of feelings I’m experiencing. It’s going to be really tough to say goodbye, again. I’m hoping to find solace in the idea that I’m chasing my dreams, no matter how big and unattainable they seem.

7 thoughts on “I’m moving to Europe! (again)

  1. Pingback: Breathing | Wander. Learn. Repeat.

  2. It won’t let me reply to your comment directly (too many in the thread!), but I’m a little overwhelmed with classes and life at the moment.

    But that timing is perfect– how about next Tuesday (20th) at 5pm at the Pakistani place? I’ve heard such good things about it.

Leave a Reply

